Understand Manus 1.6 before you delegate work to it.
Manus is a general-purpose AI agent, sold under the vendor’s own line “Less structure, more intelligence.” The current generation is Manus 1.6, and the flagship agent inside it is Manus 1.6 Max, published under an index date of 15 December 2025; the previous generation, Manus 1.5, is dated 16 October 2025. Manus does not disclose which language models any of them run on.
Version details, feature descriptions and positioning quotes on this page come from Manus’ own release post for Manus 1.6 Max, its About page, its engineering blog and its help pages. Prices, credit allowances and legal terms come from the Manus pricing page, the Manus Team page, the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy — the pricing page builds its amounts client-side, so those figures were read from the rendered page.
What Manus 1.6 Max looks like
Manus publishes no model output to show, so the gallery carries what it does publish: the 1.6 Max key art, two screenshots of the workspace running a real task, and the benchmark chart this page’s own claims come from. All four figures come from the release post.
Images © Manus, from the Manus 1.6 Max release post
How Manus describes what it is
Manus calls itself a general AI agent, and its About page puts it as “We build general AI agents as the Action Engine for life.” The product is sold as a hosted service with one current generation rather than as a menu of models you choose between, and the vendor is unusually willing to name the parts of the loop.
A positioning line, not a specification
“Less structure, more intelligence” is Manus’ own description of the product, and the About page adds “Hands on AI.” The company’s blog calls the product “orthogonal to the underlying models”, which is consistent with the fact that no Manus page names one — so the pitch is about the loop around the model rather than about the model itself.
An action space, run in a sandbox
Manus describes its loop as the model that “selects an action from a predefined action space”, with each action executed “in the environment (e.g., Manus’s virtual machine sandbox)”. That sandbox is a product surface in its own right: Manus Sandbox is documented as “a fully isolated cloud virtual machine … for each task”, rather than the agent acting directly in your own session.
You keep ownership; Manus takes a licence
The Terms of Use do not claim ownership: “The Company does not claim ownership of any Input or Output (collectively, "Your Content"). Subject to Section 5.3, as between the Company and you, you are the owner of all right, title and interest in Your Content.” Section 5.3 then takes a licence, not ownership — including a perpetual and irrevocable right to use that content to improve the services and create Usage Data — and Section 6.1 repeats that the company does not own your input or output. The two halves are separate: you are the owner, and you have granted Manus a broad licence over what you own.
Three plans, one credit meter
The three individual plans are labelled by how much usage they cover rather than by a published tier name: “Standard monthly usage” at $20/mo, “Customizable monthly usage” at $40/mo and “Extended usage for productivity” at $200/mo, or $17, $34 and $167 per month billed yearly. Manus labels the annual toggle “Annually · Save 17%”, while the published per-credit arithmetic works out at 15.0%, 15.0% and 16.5%.
Independent again since September 2026
The Terms of Use name Butterfly Effect Pte. Ltd. as the contracting party and the site footer reads “© 2026 Manus AI · Singapore.” That arrangement changed: Manus joined Meta in December 2025 and then, in the vendor’s own words, “Manus has formally resumed independent operations” under an index date of 1 September 2026. Manus publishes no named country-level restriction, though the same post refers to “a temporary interruption to access” and a restoration portal.
What Manus documents
Manus documents its product through release posts, feature pages and an API reference rather than a single specification sheet, so this section carries only the features the vendor names and describes. Where a named feature has no published detail — what a skill may contain, or how a schedule is expressed — this page says so instead of filling it in.
Manus Sandbox
Documented as “a fully isolated cloud virtual machine … for each task”. It is the environment the agent’s actions are executed in, and the vendor treats it as the boundary that keeps a task’s work away from your own machine.
Manus Browser Operator
A browser extension, distributed through the “My Browser” Connector, which the vendor says “enables Manus to operate … within your local browser environment”. It is the documented route for work that depends on a browser you are already signed into.
Scheduled Tasks 2.0
Named by Manus as a feature of the product. The pages cited here do not publish a schedule syntax, a task limit or a minimum interval, so this page states none of those.
Manus Skills
Another feature Manus lists by name. No catalogue of what a skill can contain appears on the pages cited here, so there is no documented inventory to summarise.
API v2
Programmatic access, documented at open.manus.ai against the base URL https://api.manus.ai, where Manus states that “API v1 has been deprecated”. This page states no token-level rate: Manus meters usage in credits, and the pages cited publish credit allowances rather than per-token pricing.
Team and Enterprise
Seats are sold from the Manus Team page at “US$20 Per seat / month” or “US$200 Per seat / year”, carrying “4,000 credits / seat / month” that the vendor says are pooled. For paid tiers Manus states that it “explicitly prohibits model providers from training on our Team/Enterprise Plan customers’ data”.
Documented specifications
Every row below is stated on a Manus-owned page. The pricing rows were read from the rendered pricing page, which assembles its amounts client-side, so the published digits only appear once the page has loaded.
- Developer
- Manus (Butterfly Effect Pte. Ltd.)
- Current version
- Manus 1.6
- Flagship agent
- Manus 1.6 Max
- Published
- 15 December 2025
- Previous release
- Manus 1.5, 16 October 2025
- Sandbox
- A fully isolated cloud virtual machine per task
- Interfaces
- Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, browser extension
- API
- v2, base https://api.manus.ai
- Plans, monthly
- $20 · $40 · $200
- Plans, annual
- $17 · $34 · $167 per month, billed yearly
- Credits included
- 4,000 · 8,000 · 40,000 per month
- Effective per credit
- $0.0050 monthly; $0.00425 · $0.00425 · $0.00417 annual
- Team
- US$20 per seat / month · US$200 per seat / year
- Underlying models
- Not published
Documented access channels
Manus is a hosted product reached through the vendor’s own clients, a documented API and a Team seat offering. Everything linked below is a Manus-owned page.
Manus web app
The primary surface, and the starting point for a task run in the Manus Sandbox. Mobile clients for iOS and Android and desktop builds for macOS and Windows are offered alongside it, plus the “My Browser” extension.
OpenPlans and credits
The three individual plans in monthly and annual billing, their credit allowances and the per-credit arithmetic — the page whose amounts are rendered client-side.
OpenAPI v2 documentation
Manus’ developer reference for programmatic access against the base URL https://api.manus.ai. Manus states there that API v1 has been deprecated.
OpenTeam and Enterprise
The seat pricing, the pooled per-seat credit allowance and the training restriction Manus applies to Team and Enterprise plan data.
OpenThe 1.6 Max release post
Manus’ own announcement for the version this page treats as current, and the source of most of its version and feature claims.
OpenManus 1.6 FAQ
Which version of Manus is current?
Manus 1.6, with Manus 1.6 Max as the flagship agent inside it. The vendor’s release post describes it as “our new flagship agent” and carries an index date of 15 December 2025; the previous release, Manus 1.5, is dated 16 October 2025.
Which language models does Manus run on?
Manus does not publish that, so this page does not state it. No Manus page names the language models behind Manus 1.6 or Manus 1.6 Max, and the company’s blog describes the product as “orthogonal to the underlying models”. Any list of models attributed to Manus is not drawn from the vendor’s own pages.
How much does Manus cost?
The three individual plans are $20, $40 and $200 a month, or $17, $34 and $167 per month billed yearly. They carry 4,000, 8,000 and 40,000 credits a month, the entry plan adding “300 refresh credits everyday” and the top plan a “Free Cloud Computer”. That is $0.0050 per credit on monthly billing and $0.00425, $0.00425 and $0.00417 on annual billing. Team seats are “US$20 Per seat / month” or “US$200 Per seat / year” with “4,000 credits / seat / month”. Add-on credit packs are bought in Team settings → Billing, and Manus publishes no public price list for them.
Who owns what I generate with Manus?
You own it, and Manus takes a licence over it — both halves are in the terms. The Terms of Use, last updated 28 November 2025, state: “The Company does not claim ownership of any Input or Output (collectively, "Your Content"). Subject to Section 5.3, as between the Company and you, you are the owner of all right, title and interest in Your Content.” Section 5.3 is the licence, not a transfer of ownership, and includes “a perpetual and irrevocable license to use Your Content in an aggregated manner to improve the Services … and create Usage Data”; Section 6.1 repeats that the company does not own your input or output.
Does this page show examples of Manus output?
No. Manus publishes no static figure of its own output on its homepage — the rendered page contains no product image and no video, and its brand page offers only logos. Static output figures do appear inside the vendor’s blog posts, but there is no official static figure on the product page for a gallery to reproduce, so this page carries none.
Who operates Manus, and where is it based?
The party named in the Terms of Use is Butterfly Effect Pte. Ltd., and the site footer reads “© 2026 Manus AI · Singapore.” The arrangement has changed: Manus joined Meta in December 2025, and on 1 September 2026 the company stated that “Manus has formally resumed independent operations”. Its help pages say that free credits and add-on credits never expire.